What makes you click?

How do you pick what blogs or books to read? What’s the one thing that will get you to pick up a book or click on a link every single time?

I will be honest today, not that I am not other wise.

The only thing that makes me click on a blog link “every single time” is time. Yes, there, I said it. I have too much spare time. I read posts written by every person I follow, I read all submissions in each challenge and am very generous with my likes and praise. As a one month old blogger I feel like Charlie left without Willy Wonka’s supervision in the chocolate factory. Some posts have insanely amazing titles (such as http://talesfromthemotherland.me/2013/10/01/becoming-the-cliches-i-mocked/) where as others have blog names that compel me to click.  

Mostly its because I have nothing better to do and while away my time reading and in some cases viciously judging the bad grammar of some blogs. It is a lot of fun. The content of veteran bloggers and some really new ones as well is simply superb. Really. In the past month I have read some truly astounding pieces of fiction or narratives of day-to-day life. It humbles me.

In my opinion, a compelling title, a cool blog name and an easy on the eyes theme make me click on the link but good content, correct grammar and consistent good writing makes me click on it every single time.

As far as books are concerned, I’am a voracious reader. I follow the works of many authors and only when I’am done reading each book published by my current literary obsession do I move onto the next. 

Image

Image from http://static6.depositphotos.com/1014014/642/i/950/depositphotos_6423366-Mouse-hand-selection-tool-over-clicking-over-a-link-illustration.jpg

22 thoughts on “What makes you click?

      1. Hehehe!
        I’ve just been really busy the last week.
        Just got promoted at my job so I’ve been going through the works with that. I also signed the lease to my first apartment.
        Busy busy busy!

        Post will be coming this week! Promise! 🙂

        Like

  1. Thanks so much for sharing my link. Your “crazy good” comment, frankly, makes me grin ear to ear. It’s hard work, putting it out there, finding readers, figuring out what your content will be… it’s always rewarding when others find you, and stay.

    As for too much time… well, let’s just say: I have a little to much of it too. 😉 Not the worst problem in the world, I suppose.

    Like

    1. Hahaha!
      I HAD to share your link! I am glad you are grinning ear to ear rather than censoring me about copyrights and content infringement or any other such legal jargon. 😀

      I have to say, you are cool mother and an even cooler blogger!

      Like

      1. Thanks! You are too kind… if I was your mother, you would not think so! That is inevitable. 😉 I am always flattered to have my link shared… well, except when spammers do it. But there is no copyright issue when you share and give credit. It is what bloggers should do for each other.

        Like

      2. Umm, i think my mother is super cool even though she IS my mother. She’s the Antarctica of coolness as far as Indian mothers go. 😀

        Like

  2. Haha! I love how you compared your style as being lost in Willy Wonka’s Chocolate Factory! When time is not of the essence, it’s great to get lost in different blogs. =)

    I’m so happy that we are blogger friends!! ❤

    Like

Your thoughts, if any?

